Meet Your Director

Meet Your Director

BECi Board of Directors

            By and large, we don’t get to choose who provides our electric service. Folks on opposite sides of the road may be served by different electric providers, some by a stockholder-driven investor-owned utility, others a city-owned municipal electric system.  We are a not-for-profit electric cooperative owned by you and your fellow members.

            Every home or business that receives power from an electric cooperative—18 million in 47 states—owns a portion of the utility. As a result, anyone who receives cooperative electric service becomes a member and consumer, not a customer. Across the nation, electric co-ops serve more than 42 million people.

            Being a member matters. Beauregard Electric doesn’t exist to make profits for distant investors on Wall Street.  We exist to provide you with safe, reliable, and affordable electric service—and doing so in a way that raises the quality of life in our communities.

            Membership matters because you have a voice and a vote in how your co-op is governed. Through democratic control, members like you elected someone from your area of the co-op to serve on the BECi Board of Directors. Control stays in local hands. Your board of directors, along with those who work for your co-op, are your friends and neighbors.

            If you are not sure which district you belong to, click here to view our district map.


District One

Donald Bush

Donald Bush Donald R. Bush, a resident of Pickering and retired school administrator and teacher, has served on the BECi Board in District One since 1989. Mr. Bush holds a bachelor and masters degree in education from McNeese State University and is a member of the Pickering Lodge #477, Cooper Baptist Church, and is a 32nd degree Scottish Rite and Shriner. Mr. Bush has also served as a board member, president and vice president on the West Louisiana Forestry Festival. A NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director, Mr. Bush also has a NRECA Board Leadership Certification.

District Two

Dale Peterson

Dale Peterson Dale Peterson, a resident of Rosepine and owner/operator of the Rosepine Family Pharmacy. Mr. Peterson has served on the BECi Board in District Two since 2004 and is currently serving as board president. Mr. Peterson holds a bachelor degree in biology from McNeese State University and a bachelor degree in pharmacy from the University of Louisiana-Monroe. Mr. Peterson is a member of the Louisiana Pharmacist Association, Fellow of Society of Consulting Pharmacist, Louisiana Retrospective Drug Reviews, Louisiana Drug Policy and Review Board, St. Joseph Catholic Church and is a NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director. 

District Three

J.R. Hickman

J.R. Hickman J.R. Hickman, a resident of DeRidder, has served on the BECi Board in District Three since 1993. Mr. Hickman is a retired educator with 33 years of teaching experience. Mr. Hickman attended McNeese State University, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, and Northwestern State University. He holds a bachelor degree and master degree +30 in education. Mr. Hickman hails from a Beauregard Parish Pioneer Family and is a member of Grace Church, the Beauregard Parish Fair Board, member and past president of the Association of Louisiana Electric Cooperatives (ALEC), a NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director, charter member, past president and past state board member of the Beauregard Parish Association of Professional Educators in Louisiana (APEL), past board member of the High School FFA Rodeo Association and Beauregard Farm Bureau, and is a 32nd degree Mason and Shriner. Mr. Hickman is a former assistant principal of DeRidder High School and former agriculture teacher at DeRidder High School and Merryville High School. 

District Four

Stoney Doyle

Stoney Doyle Stoney Doyle, a resident of DeRidder, is an air-conditioner technician and business owner. Doyle is an alumnus of East Beauregard High School and Lamar Technical College.



District Five

Teddy Welch

Teddy Welch Teddy Welch, a resident of Sugartown, has served on the BECi Board in District Five since 1989.  Mr. Welch is a retired teacher and principal from the Beauregard Parish School system. He attended McNeese State University, Louisiana State University, Northwestern State University and holds a bachelor degree and master degree +30 in education and a certification in vocational agriculture.  Mr. Welch is a member of Sugartown Baptist Church and the Beauregard Parish Cattleman’s Association. Mr. Welch is a member and past president of the Beauregard Parish Police Jury and is a NRECA Credentialed Cooperative Director.

District Six

Trent Buxton

Trent Buxton Trent Buxton, a resident of DeQuincy was elected to the BECi Board in District Six in 2016. Mr. Buxton is  the Environmental, Health and Safety Manager for Juniper GTL and co-owner of Toddler Junction Early Learning Center in DeQuincy. He attended DeRidder High School and McNeese State University. Buxton attends Bible Baptist Church in DeQuincy and is a member of DeQuincy  Dixie Youth Athletics and the American Society of Safety Engineers. 

District Seven

Doug Sonnier

Doug Sonnier Doug Sonnier, a resident of Oberlin has served on the BECi Board in District Seven since 2000.  Mr. Sonnier is a farmer and attends Oaklin Springs Baptist Church. He is a past president of the Allen Parish Police Jury, and former board member of Allen Parish Fair Board and Allen Action Agency Board.   

District Eight

Diana Backhaus

Diana Backhaus Diana Backhaus was elected in 2016.  She is a resident of Sulphur and is a member of Henning Methodist Church.  She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting and a Master's degree in Education from McNeese State University.  Diana is a registered tax preparer, an accountant and realtor with Coldwell Banker Gallerie Realty, LLC, and is a retired certified math teacher. She is also a NRECA Credential Cooperative Director.

District Nine

Tommy Cryar

Tommy Cryar Tommy Cryar, a resident of Moss Bluff, is a real estate investor. He is a graduate of Sam Houston High School. Cryar is also a member of First Baptist Church of Gillis and the Executive Director of the Independent Builders Association.